Pennsylvania DUI Laws
Drunk driving is a serious criminal offense in Pennsylvania. It can result in a person facing harsh penalties and fines. Please contact our Philadelphia DUI lawyers to discuss the DUI charge asserted against you in more detail. Philadelphia DUI Defense Attorney Michael Benz can provide you with legal advice and guidance on how to proceed. Read on to learn more about Pennsylvania’s DUI laws.
Pennsylvania DUI Penalties
In Pennsylvania, a person will be charged with drunk driving if he/she has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. Below is a table illustrating the minimum DUI penalties in Pennsylvania. The information below is for educational purposes only. Each DUI case is unique and may not result in any conviction. Contact Philadelphia DUI Defense Lawyer Michael Benz to find out how he can get the charge asserted against you reduced or completely dismissed.
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Minimum Jail Time Served||No minimum jail time required.||5 day minimum and up to 6 months jail sentence||10 day minimum and up to 2 years jail sentence|
|Fines & Penalties||$300||$300 – $2500||$500 – $5,000|
|Driver’s License Suspension||No||12 Months||12 Months|
|Ignition Interlock Device Required||Yes if the accused refused to take the chemical test||Yes for up to 12 months, or the duration of the restricted license||Yes for up to 12 months, or the duration of the restricted license.|
The accused level of intoxication will affect how he/she will be punished. For example, if a first time DUI offender’s BAC is .10% to .159%, he/she will have to serve a mandatory 2 day jail sentence and potentially remain in jail for up to 6 months. In addition, the accused may have to pay a $500 to $5,000 fine. If a first time DUI offender’s BAC is above .16%, he/she will have to serve a mandatory 3 day jail sentence and potentially remain in jail for up to 6 months. Fines will range from $1,000 to $5,000.
Additional DUI Consequences
In addition to the penalties mentioned above, a person can lose their driver’s license for a specified period of time as a result of being charged and/or convicted of drunk driving. There is no mandatory minimum license suspension requirements for a first time DUI offense with a BAC of .08%. A BAC range of .10% to .16% carries a 1 year license suspension. If a driver refused to submit to a roadside breathalyzer test, his/her driver’s license will be automatically suspended for 1 year.
Obtaining Alcohol Abuse Treatment
If you are suffering from alcohol abuse/dependency, you may want to consider entering into a treatment program. Several individuals who are arrested for drunk driving in Pennsylvania suffer from alcohol dependency. There are several programs, such as Alcoholic Anonymous that may be able to help you. Do not let your untreated alcohol dependency condition result in subsequent drunk driving arrests. Contact our Philadelphia DUI defense lawyers to find out what programs you can enter into to get the treatment you need.
Contact A Philadelphia DUI Attorney
We invite you to contact our Philadelphia DUI defense lawyers to discuss your DUI case in confidence. Philadelphia DUI Attorney Michael Benz can provide you with legal advice and guidance on how to proceed. Do not delay in obtaining legal representation as doing so may harm your case